The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas

Standard

COM

I was surprised when reading ‘My Year of Reading Dangerously’ that it is possible for an avid reader to find a book which just makes them feel complete – they continue to read after finding that book, but it’s that book which, actually, is all you would find you need. I considered myself far too creative a reader to take this seriously, of course, and that it was just the over dramatic reaction of one person.

Well, Andy Miller may have hit the nail on the head. I have wanted to read The Count of Monte Cristo for quite some time – ever since V, from V for Vendetta, (the film, not the graphic novel), mentioned it and seemed to emulate Edward Dantes so highly. I had a late teenage obsession with V for Vendetta, and during a move from New Zealand to England over the English school holidays, spent a lot of time learning the movie word for word and studying V’s every movement. His passion for Monte Cristo, however, did not pass over to me, though when I got a kindle a few years later it was one of the first books I downloaded onto it. Now, almost 4 years later, I have read it.

And I have fallen in love.

It contains everything – from fierce battles, to many difference forms of romance, from vendettas to pious religion, from the ocean to action concentrated in Paris. The names take a little getting used to, but you spend so long with them that you don’t even care.

I had thoughts of writing a long post about everything about this book, but actually I just want to spend some time mourning the fact that I will never get to read it for the first time again. Then I shall look forwards to reading it for the second, third, fourth, hundreth time!

One thought on “The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas

Leave a Reply

